Leaving Lorraine

Quiche style.

Recently I’ve read on several blogs, including here at the simple stove, vegetarian varieties of quiche, a favored dish of mine…however, being the ‘rebel’ I am, I decided on a different take. I ditched the crust, used a variety of cheeses, and ended up with easily the best fucking quiche I have ever cooked let alone tasted. The closest one I can thing of is Urth Caffe‘s veggie tomato and smoked mozzarella.

My photographer/camera op room mate took a bunch of beautiful pics, which I’ll upload later when I find my memory card reader.

Lets get started.

The Pieces

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes…or so

  • 8 oz fresh Ricotta
  • 6 oz fresh grated pepper jack
  • 4 oz Minuet or something comparable
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup diced white onion
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onion
  • 4 cloves minced or pressed garlic
  • 1/4 cup diced celery
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • salt
  • fresh cracked black

Aww, ain't Brandon talented...

The Puzzle

0. Preheat oven to 375

1. Use 2 burners to heat up a 13″x9″ pyrex casserole on high

2. Saute your garlic and green onion until the white portion of the onion is transparent. Remove the onion/garlic from the pan, and turn off the burners

3. Layer your broccoli, white onion and celery in the bottom of the casserole dish

4. Combine milk, eggs, salt, pepper, green onion and garlic in a bowl. Begin whisking together, adding in the ricotta and 3 oz of the pepper jack slowly.

5. Once smoothly combined, pour evenly into the pyrex dish.

AWESOMEINORITE

Again, Brandon my photographer

6. Top with crumbled bits of minuet (I was just lucky enough to have this delicious shit on hand. Feta/gorgonzola could also do the trick) and remaining portion of Pepper Jack

Sometimes, my talents scares me

7. Stick it into the oven until golden brown on top, or when a knife stuck in the center comes out w/o egg on it

FUCK YEA

I know, right?

About Vicious
Possibly sober

2 Responses to Leaving Lorraine

  1. scribblegurl says:

    Boy, you DO love cheese, don’t you? 🙂 I am off the quiche for a while, sadly. Cholesterol thru the roof. But this looks AWESOME.

Leave a comment