A Mediterranean Father’s Day Frittata

I love my dad.

Many folks say their either a momma’s boy or daddy’s boy or whatever – personally, I love them equally. When I’m with my mom, I’m a momma’s boy – and vice versa with my pops.

So I like to do whatever I can for them to show my appreciation. Honestly, I think celebrating my birthday’s silly – WTF did I do? Shit, I actually tried to strangle myself in the womb, so its not like a whole lot of work went into my birth from my end. That was all my Mama, and partially my dad, so my birthday really should be me thanking them profusely for not just saying ‘fuck it lets try again next year’ since I was such a little pain.

Anyway, I digress. Last Saturday I picked up my dad’s dog Ralphie (sweet old boxer) and headed down to San Diego to see my dad.

From left to right - Ralphie, Myrddin (mer-thin), and Lady

This one’s for you Pops.

The Pieces

Prep Time: 20-25 minutes

Cook Time: 40-45 minutes

Feeds: 3-4 people

  • 1 large red bell pepper
  • 1 yellow zucchini
  • 1 roma tomato
  • 1 large red onion
  • 1/2 pound pitted kalamata olives
  • 8 oz cheese curds of some sort (ricotta or mozzarella)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/4 cup half and half
  • cayenne
  • fresh cracked black pepper

The Puzzle

1. Preheat oven to 375

2. finely dice (very nearly mince) all your veggies except the kalamata’s. We want these roughly chopped.

3. Combine eggs, half and half, cheese curds, olives in a bowl and whip together vigorously

4. In a pan on high heat, saute your finely diced veggies with some oil, 1 tsp cayenne, and some fresh cracked black pepper until see through. No more than 5 minutes

5. In a deep casserole dish, ideally 7x7x4, place your sauteed veggies

6. top with the egg mixture and lightly combine. We still want most of the veggies on the bottom

I had some extra cloth bound cheddar sitting around, which i crumbled on top

7. Stick it in the oven for about 40 minutes, or until a knife stuck in the center comes out completely clean. It should puff up considerably.

8. Once done, let stand at room temperature at least 10 minutes

9. For an extra special kick, serve with tzatziki sauce. I’ll be doing my own version of this soon enough.

10. Remind your father just how much you love him, and enjoy!

YUMMM