Some Sort of Strudel, or “Sweet Jebaz I tried to Bake” (WIP)

A little back story:

It was Sunday night and my close friends were having a BBQ. I was still at work, and needed something I could whip up in a pinch, with less than 20 bucks. I had some overripe bananas on the counter, and a weird desire to bake a pastry – something I haven’t done since I was in cooking class.

So I thought I’d fry up some banana and raisin ‘spring rolls’ using wonton wrappers, rather like Turron, the Filipino dessert. Plan in hand I ventured off to my nearby relatively price efficient Ralphs…only to be horribly disappointed. I suppose it was foolish to expect them to stock something as simple as wonton wrappers…so I went with puff pastry.

I’ve never used puff pastry.

Its inherent in the name – it puffs. I just didn’t realize how much.

Still, I like to think this came out pretty damn well for a fool stumbling in an unknown realm.

(pics to come)

The Pieces

Prep Time: 8 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes or so

  • 4 overripe bananas
  • 1 cup (or so) California Raisins
  • 1/4 cup cinnamon sugar (just combine cinnamon til it has an even color)
  • 1 tsp fresh nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp ghee (clarified butter)
  • egg wash (beat an egg with a bit of milk till its smooth)
  • 2 sheets puff pastry

the puzzle

0. Preheat your oven to 375

1. Slice your banana’s in half lengthwise, then cut into 1/4″ pieces

2. Mix with raisins and cinnamon sugar, and microplane a bit of nutmeg in as well

3. Thaw out your puff pastry sheets. I set them on top of the preheating oven with quick results.

4. The sheets should each be folded in thirds. I used this to my advantage to make 3 pastries by cutting on the folds, which yields 6 sheets. For each pastry:

5. Lay one out and top with a generous (1 inch high) mound of the banana mixture

6. Top with another pastry sheet. Use a fork to connect the two sheets, then take a knife and make regular slices on the bias in the top of the pastry itself.

7. Brush with egg wash for that golden brown goodness

8. Bake until all puffed up and golden – about 15 minutes

Topping:

You should have about a cup of the banana mixture remaining. I was inspired to turn this into a topping of sorts for the dish.

1. Put the remaining mixture into a small sauce pan with the butter and honey

2. On medium heat, begin stirring – you’ll notice the banana begins to dissolve immediately.

3. Continue until fully liquefied…

Once the ‘strudel’ is outta the oven and cooling, spread your topping over each piece.

Serve with light beer and good friends – although, to be honest, I really wasn’t terribly pleased with the outcome. It was received well, but then again, these are my friends and their opinions are a little biased.

I think the dish needs something more, something to ‘kick it up a notch’ as that fat Creole fuck likes to say.

I’m open to suggestions!

About Vicious
Possibly sober

2 Responses to Some Sort of Strudel, or “Sweet Jebaz I tried to Bake” (WIP)

  1. Tania says:

    what does ‘microplane mean?? the pastry sounds delicious!

    • A Microplane is a sort of hand held long thin grater – its most useful for grating fresh spices into whatever dish you like, since you can hold it directly over the pot.

      Honestly any sorta grater can work.

Leave a Reply

